Question about organizations and billing

Hi there,

I am new to fly.io and after doing some tests I have to say that I find it to be an amazing platform. I have some doubt about how organizations work.

Apologies if this was already answered.

My company develops web applications of several sizes for different customers… apps are usually small, but some may have big traffic spikes, so auto-scaling is desiderable and fly machines works very well for that in my tests. Other apps may need HA, and postgress on fly makes that easy.

Currently we work with virtual servers, we do the sysops, and we bill our customers on a monthly basis depending on server size. Scaling is done by hand and is not very usual so it’s easy to calculate costs.

I am the company’s CTO so I decide which technologies to use, and I am liking your platform a lot. I am thinking about starting developing new projects here, and maybe migrating some existing ones.

But we have to bill customers and with something as dynamic as fly machines is not easy. I’ve seen that I can create different organizations. I am thinking in creating a organization for each of my customers, but all of them should be billed to my company, on a single invoice if possible… the purpose is to know how much each customer is costing us.

Does that make sense or there is a better way?

Another question… when there are several organizations, where goes the free tier? It goes to one organization, it is shared between them?

Best,
Kurtie.-

1 Like

This would be possible, but you would get separate invoices for each of those organizations, it wouldn’t all be on one bill. This could potentially make it easier for you to see exactly how much each customer is costing you.

Each organization would have it’s own free tier.

Hi @kurtie