Is postgres on Fly ready to host production databases ?

I have a production app running on Fly, I don’t have any data to migrate so I started with Fly Postgres. Deployed to the same region as main app in ewr. After reading the comments on this forum for a while, I got the impression that Fly Postgres is missing some features and is not functionally complete as a managed db offering.

I’m thinking about creating a managed db in DigitalOcean, in New York and connecting through DATABASE_URL in my Phoenix App. Is this better than the postgres on fly.

I’m a single dev and is not interested that much in operations, I want something that works and with minimal latency. I also want backups, but that’s about it. Should I stay with Fly then ?

1 Like

The Fly postgres offering is just a regular Fly deployment. It works but does require intervention from your side to perform backups. That’s not much fun, and enough hassle for me to look for other solutions as well for my customers while the Fly version gets worked out. I think it depends a lot on the latency you can handle. In two tests so far, I’ve seen around 5-8ms latency, in the Frankfurt and Toronto regions, between Fly and AWS.

So I looked into Crunchy Data’s Bridge product which was mentioned elsewhere.

This product is a bit hidden on their site, as it’s only in production since September. But it’s great! Basically like Heroku’s postgres offering, but can run on a variety of clouds. It won’t run directly on Fly yet, but there are enough cloud host options that I suspect you can find a low latency option.

I’ll be testing this out this week and see how it goes.

1 Like

Backups are right around the corner. We’re already backing up all volumes, so it’s mostly a matter of exposing the functionality to download and restore.

As far as latency goes: they’re definitely meant to be used from a Fly-hosted app. A few ms of latency is expected crossing providers that aren’t in the same datacenters unfortunately.