First impressions with Fly.io and and Gleam

Hi everyone! Yesterday I launched my first application with Fly.io. It was really impressed with the experience overall, but I hit a few UX snags that I thought could be improved a little, so I thought I’d share my experience.

Context

I’m an experienced programmer and web app deployment type person with professional experience with lots of different deployment tech.

The application I’m deployed is a tiny example web app written in Gleam, a language for which Fly.io doesn’t have any built-in support.

I dived straight in and followed the “get started” link on the homepage and then doing the “speedrun” guide to try and get the app live as quickly as possible.

Best bits

I really liked the flow from the home page, installing the CLI, signing up, and then to the deployment guides. It’s really nice how it keeps you focused on getting something online and didn’t dump you to an empty dashboard unlike most platforms.

I really liked how there were multiple paths you could take depending on how much context you had or how much reading about the platform you wanted to do before deploying.

The CLI is really slick, and it’s fab how quickly the build->deploy cycle is for docker. I didn’t test the other runtimes.

Snag 1: Payment requirement UX

After installing flyctl and authenticating I ran flyctl launch. I was getting quite excited putting in the app name and region, but then I rather suddenly got a bold red error message in my console saying this:

ERROR We need your payment information to continue!

This is a perfectly reasonable requirement, but having it then and with big red ERROR text was rather jarring, it didn’t feel very good, especially as it wasn’t mentioned in the speedrun documentation at all.

Suggestion

I think this could feel a lot nicer if it was presented with a more friendly tone as a normal step in the process, rather than an abrupt halt with a message labelled ERROR.

Snag 2: Deployment hanging