Unable to connect to wireguard tunnel

Hello folks,
I’m new to fly.io and I just setup a database. I tried to connect to it using the internal connection string with wireguard activated but I have this response.

psql: error: could not translate host name “tododemo.internal” to address: Nom ou service inconnu

But it seems like the wireguard connection is established from what I got on my terminal (before attempting to connect to the database).

wg-quick up kevin-wireguard
[#] ip link add kevin-wireguard type wireguard
[#] wg setconf kevin-wireguard /dev/fd/63
[#] ip -6 address add fdaa:0:b152:a7b:1596:0:a:2/120 dev kevin-wireguard
[#] ip link set mtu 1420 up dev kevin-wireguard
[#] resolvconf -a kevin-wireguard -m 0 -x
[#] ip -6 route add fdaa:0:b152::/48 dev kevin-wireguard

Also the dig example from the docs is not working for me

dig +short txt _peer.internal @fdaa:0:18::3

I guess it is a bad sign. :confused:

Any help will be welcome

Hello @lewoudar! Until the more experienced folks chime in, can you do a sanity check on the connection with fly wireguard status personal kevin-wireguard? Or just fly wireguard status and select it. Just want to make sure it’s up and running.

After running wg-quick up kevin-wireguard, check the status of the service.

On ubuntu 18 and later: sudo systemctl status wg-quick@kevin-wireguard. If the service is not active, try restarting it with sudo systemctl restart wg-quick@kevin-wireguard.

When using dig, make sure to set the resolver to the DNS value set in your wireguard config file. it looks like you might be using the DNS server (fdaa:0:18::3) from the Fly documentation, which is probably not (but could be!) the dns server set in your wireguard configuration.

A couple commands to print the dns server and run the dig command:

grep DNS kevin-wireguard.conf
dig +short txt _peer.internal @$(grep DNS kevin-wireguard.conf | cut -d' ' -f3)

Once you have that working ensure that the routing is setup correctly: