Noobies Question - mysql vol not being populated

Hi Fly.io Community!

I am new to fly.io and exploring it as a service for our app’s hosting.

It is Laravel based, and have an app and machine working correctly for our product.

I’ve also attached a volume have that storage being persistent across machine restarts.

I’ve also setup another machine/app for the database using this guide - Use a MySQL Database · Fly Docs and also successfully attached a volume.

It can connect to it successfully using the .internal app name and I am able to run artisan commands from the machine hosting the source code to populate the DB but upon restarting the machine - the database is wiped.

here is what my toml file looks like

~~
app = “testapp”
kill_signal = “SIGINT”
kill_timeout = 5

[mounts]
source=“mysqldata”
destination=“/data/mysql”

[env]
MYSQL_DATABASE = “testdb”
MYSQL_USER = “non_root_user”

[build]
image = “mysql:5.7”

[experimental]
cmd = [
“–default-authentication-plugin”,
“mysql_native_password”,
“–datadir”,
“/data/mysql”
]
~~

I cant see any mysql files in /data/mysql being populated in this mounted vol.

Can someone please give me a pointer on what I am doing wrong?

Thanks!

Hey there!

It looks like our docs for running mysql need updating since we made our “apps v2” the default. That changed the fly.toml file a bit.

What you’re seeing is the [experimental] settings get ignored, and thus the --datadir flag isn’t used. (Also the destination section in [mount] needs a tweak)

We’re working on the docs now (thanks for the nudge!)

For mysql 5.7, use this for your fly.toml:

app = "testapp"
kill_signal = "SIGINT"
kill_timeout = 5

# Set this to whatever region you're
# deploying into
primary_region = "bos"

[processes]
app = "--datadir /data/mysql"

[mounts]
  source="mysqldata"
  destination="/data"

[env]
  MYSQL_DATABASE = "testdb"
  MYSQL_USER = "non_root_user"

[experimental]
  auto_rollback = true

[build]
  image = "mysql:5.7"

Things to note: