Mysql database for Laravel app

Hi, I am newbie here.

May I know if it is possible to create and access mysql database here for my laravel application?
If yes, can someone please guide me. I am completely blank. I tried to use planetscale but it is not work! (it cannot import from normal mysql data file). Please help.

Thank you

Hi @nshahril2255

There was just a recent discussion about getting mysql setup with laravel. You would probably need to attach and mount volumes to your app.

But I am going to link to this post which goes into more details

1 Like

Hi!

I actually have a rough draft of a blog article I wrote on how to get MySQL running on Fly. You may as well see it first!

The gist of it is this: You make a second app that runs MySQL, so you’ll end up with 2 apps (one app to run Laravel, another to run MySQL).

The process:

1. Create a Fly app for MySQL
  2. Configure the app
    1. Add app secrets (to set MySQL passwords)
    2. Create and configure a volume (to persist our database data)
    3. Update fly.toml
  3. Deploy the app

Create the App

Here's what that looks like:

# Make a directory for the mysql app
mkdir my-mysql
cd my-mysql

# Run `fly launch` to create an app
fly launch

> Set an app name such as "my-mysql"
> Do not launch now if asked

Now we'll have a Fly application created named my-mysql. We haven't launched anything yet!

Configure the App

Let's create a volume straight-away. If you don't create a volume, you'll lose all of your data on any deployment (or if we move your VM to another host if there are issues).

# This assumes we're in the same directory "my-mysql"  
# alongside the fly.toml file

# Create a volume within our app "my-mysql"
# BE SURE TO SET THE REGION YOU WANT
fly volumes create mysqldata --region dfw --size 10

We also need to set some secrets required by the MySQL container:

# This assumes we're in the same directory "my-mysql"  
# alongside the fly.toml file

# Set secrets: