Deployment fails when setting up a Swift Vapor project

Hey,
I’ve tried following the Swift Vapor tutorial for setting up and deploying a Vapor project to fly.io: Vapor: Deploy → Fly

Everything worked except for the actual deployment:

fly deploy

==> Verifying app config
--> Verified app config
==> Building image
Remote builder fly-builder-floral-resonance-8073 ready
==> Creating build context
--> Creating build context done
Error failed to fetch an image or build from source: error fetching docker server info: Get "http://[fdaa:1:b9ea:a7b:10b:a147:3e20:2]:2375/v1.41/info": context deadline exceeded

I’m totally new to deploying things (I’m just an iOS developer but I want to make a website with a Swift backend). I can’t really find anything helpful on Google.

I’d appreciate any help :slight_smile: Let me know if you need more information, I’m not sure what is needed to debug this.

Cheers
Dennis

Hey, are you running any VPN software? If so, try turning it off before deploying.

You can also try fly agent restart, then fly deploy, to see if that helps.

Otherwise, it’s possible your network has trouble with Wireguard traffic over UDP, which is what flyctl uses for connecting to your Fly.io network for deployment. Try fly wg websockets enable to see if that helps.

Hey, thanks for your reply :slight_smile:

I don’t have a VPN running. fly wg websockets enable did seem to help, it now starts deploying. However, after a few minutes, I get another error:

Error failed to fetch an image or build from source: error building: executor failed running [/bin/sh -c swift build -c release --static-swift-stdlib]: exit code: 1

Interestingly, I just got an email saying

Hello! Your “fly-builder-floral-resonance-8073” application hosted on Fly.io crashed because it ran out of memory.