Using Laravel on Fly.io

I am a PHP/Laravel developer. I currently run my apps on a traditional cloud VPS provider but really want to get away from managing servers. I have not been able to find any guides on your site or even external blog posts about getting Laravel running on Fly.

Doing some digging I found this post about multi process apps so it looks like that would be an easy way to run queue workers by defining a worker process and having it run Laraverl’s queue worker command php artisan queue:work

I am not 100% sure what to do for the command for the web process. Would I need to start nginx or something?

I am also not sure what to do for scheduled tasks. It seems a year ago you said cron tasks were coming in a few months But that was almost exactly a year ago and I have not seen any more recent updates on that. For Laravel specifically we would normally schedule a cron to run php artisan schedule:run every minute and the Laravel code would handle the rest.

I also can’t seem to find a good source for how to scale processes. Like if my queue is backing up to add more workers or if I am getting alot of web requests to scale up more web processes.

Hi,

Yep, it’s not quite as simple as running e.g a Node app because PHP doesn’t include its own web server. You need to run Apache/Nginx in front to proxy requests to it. And so to run both in a single app/vm, you need a supervisor (or equivalent) process to keep both PHP and Nginx running. But it’s absolutely do-able.

Take a look at GitHub - fly-apps/fly-hello-laravel: Sample Laravel app for deployment on Fly.io

That’s the demo Laravel app with its default home page (the example app the Laravel CLI makes). But the changes made to that app (and so the changes needed to deploy your own app) are listed too, from this bit onwards GitHub - fly-apps/fly-hello-laravel: Sample Laravel app for deployment on Fly.io