Node.js Discord bot doesn't seem to communicate

Hello everyone.

I’m new to this, and I have to admit I’m not a pro on node.js.

So long things short, I had a bot (a translator) working in heroku, and now I moved it to fly.io.
It is working, but duplicates it’s actions (sends 2 translations to each language), and I believe it still uses Heroku Postgrees DB, so I decided to upload a new instance (the DB only holds the channels config, so not to worry about losing it and do it again).

The problem is, altho it gets the bot online, it doesn’t respond to the commands i put in discord, so I assume it is not communicating.

I have the secrets set, but not sure it is the right way (I did as docs explain).
power_v1

Here’s my fly.toml code:

app = "translator-local"
kill_signal = "SIGINT"
kill_timeout = 5
processes = []

[build]
  builder = "heroku/buildpacks:20"

[build.args]
  NODE_ENV = "production"

[env]
  DATABASE_URL = "process.env.DATABASE_URL"
  DISCORD_TOKEN = "process.env.DISCORD_TOKEN"
  NODE_MODULES_CACHE = "false"
  PORT = "8080"

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you in advance!

One thing I’ve noted is that you set the env values as these strings so DATABASE_URL is literally "process.env.DATABASE_URL" rather than your secret. I’d say remove those two from the [env] section and use only secrets for these. That might be able to help.

Otherwise…

I’m not used to discord bots at all but I assume it uses webhooks? Have you tried changing the webhook to hit your new URL from Fly? Looking into logs might be a nice place to start debugging

In case it uses longpolling that might explain why it replied twice as having two concurrent instances would make both of them get updates on a near time frame and both would reply thinking they are the only one doing it. But assuming it is using this method you might also want to look into logs to see if there’s nothing else happening.

2 Likes

First of all, thank you for your reply!