How to use fly.io to manage the multiple domains for our project

Hi

This is my first time here

I want to know how to use the fly.io for the following use case

1. User will come on our website and register their workspace
  2. The workspace url will be https://<workspace>.our-platform.com
  3. For higher plans they can even change the complete url, https://manager.mywebsite.com

When any of these url is hit, it should open https://manager.our-platform.com

Our DNS is managed on CF and application is hosted in GCP

2 Likes

We plan to implement this as well very soon. Following :pray:t2:

An example for something like this would be amazing! We had something like this in production a few years ago now on the original fly model and only found the experience to be amazing.

Having an example that makes something like this super simple to understand and implement is pretty valuable to the platform as a whole, specially for SAAS partners.

Another note, in the past, we had to do some CNAME flattening on Route53 in order to give out more friendly on brand CNAME’s to our customers and to have the nameservers where we can change where they point at any moment. Would love to hear more on this as well :grin:

I can give you a quick outline of how it could work:

• Create a wildcard certificate with Fly for *.our-platform.com and go through the steps necessary for us to generate a certificate for it.
  • You create wildcard A and AAAA records for *.our-platform.com and point them at your Fly app’s IPs
  • For higher plans, you tell your users to create a CNAME record for their hostname and point it at manager.our-platform.com (or their <workspace>.our-platform.com, this might be easier if you want to move some workspaces at some point)