How to migrate a postgres database from one server to another (dirty but works for fresh & small db's)

This is specific to rails but this will get you 99% of the way

Before we start, I’m sure there’s an easier way but I’m not really sure how, so if someone can please comment on a MUCH better and cleaner way then please do. I am a complete noob but I was able to get this far…

Also, this is only for databases that are freshly made that you’re migrating to. We will be dropping the fresh database!!!

First make the database you want to migrate to, in my case I had a render.com database that I connect my fly apps to

Get the external url example:
postgres://user_name:password@location/target_db

Get the url of the database that you want to pull from
postgres://user_name:password@location/source_db

From there I use the

simply fly launch and set the secrets of SOURCE_DATABASE_URI and TARGET_DATABASE_URI

fly launch
Don’t create DB
fly secrets set SOURCE_DATABASE_URI=postgres://user_name:password@location/source_db
fly secrets set TARGET_DATABASE_URI=postgres://user_name:password@location/target_db
fly deploy

Cool now we’ll move the database over by running from the terminal
fly ssh console -C "migrate"

Cool now try assigning the new DATABASE_URL to your app
fly secrets set DATABASE_URL=postgres://user_name:password@location/target_db

You’ll probably hit some errors. Mine for example was it wasn’t detecting the database despite it being made and migrated. So, this is what the next part for:

Let that run and then psql into the TARGET DATABASE
psql postgres://user_name:password@location/target_db

So this is where things get a little weird which is why I’m writing this guide. This doesn’t create the database. This migrator may not copy over the data the database you want, but you now have the data that you need on the actual postgres instance. So to move the data over to the right database, we’ll drop the made database and copy it from the migrated data