Deploy failing w/: "Error error creating a new machine machine: failed to launch VM: To create more than 1 machine per app please add a payment method."

Hi! I’m new to Fly.io, and in the process of building my first Phoenix/Liveview app, and decided to give fly.io a try. I tried following the instructions on the getting started page, but ran into the following error when trying to deploy:

Error error creating a new machine machine: failed to launch VM: To create more than 1 machine per app please add a payment method.

When I check my Machines tab, I see one for each deploy attempt I’ve made, but they all have a state of “destroyed”, so I shouldn’t have more than 1 machine during the deploy process (I would think).

Am I missing something simple? This question from back in August seems similar, but that appears to have been resolved by a bug fix. I am using the latest version of flyctl (0.0.509) on homebrew, so I assume it’s not the same issue.

Thanks!

My best guess: if your fly.toml has a release_command value, that is likely the issue. Release commands run in separate, ephemeral machines, and many framework launchers in fly launch end up setting release commands.

Typically these commands are for things like running database migrations - things you don’t want your app to do every time it starts up, only when there’s a new version being deployed, but that you can’t do in the dockerfile setup.

In the case of Phoenix, it seems like the flyctl launch scanner for Phoenix only adds a release command if ecto is used in your project.
In that case, you might be able to get by with commenting out the release command in your fly.toml and adding this to it:

[processes]
app = "/bin/sh -c '/app/bin/migrate && /app/entry start'"

This overrides the command that’s specified in the dockerfile, appending the ecto migration script to the startup command of the app’s machine.