Deploy Django App with Channels (WebSocket, ASGI)

I am new to Fly.io. I want to deploy a Django app that implements Channels for WebSockets. Is there a good guide for doing so? I used Daphne for the development, but is Daphne available on Fly.io or should I think about Uvicorn? Or should I put all of this in Docker and deploy that way? Sorry for the newbie question, trying to sort my way through the overall plan. Any advice would certainly be appreciated.

I’m not personally aware of a solution here but you might try the Django Forum where people who would know hang out. I’m not sure it’s a dependent answer.

Thank you. I will check that out. I appreciate the response.

1 Like

I’m curious what you discover. Daphne looks like it’ll work on Fly. I think you may be able to tweak the Dockerfile flyctl generates when you run fly launch. It uses gunicorn by default, but the CMD line could change to start Daphne instead.

Thanks. I still need to read and understand flyctl better. Newbie here. :slight_smile:

Try flyctl launch on your app and see what happens. It’s pretty good at Django thanks to @wsvincent up there. :wink:

2 Likes

I got the ASGI-WebSocket app to deploy. Live app is at: https://bitter-fire-7529.fly.dev/ .

Following are thoughts on deployment.

First, I had a Django/React app implementing WebSockets that worked locally. You can see the working code here: GitHub - TKChattoraj/websocket_functionality: Simple app to demonstrate WebSocket functionality. I won’t discuss what is needed to create a working local development, except to note the the Requirements file. Among others, Daphne and Whitenoise are needed.

I ran through the normal deployment instructions, basically following the Django Guide: Getting Started · Fly Docs, allowing automatic creation of the Dockerfile. Then I revised the CMD entry in the Dockerfile:

CMD ["python3", "manage.py", "runserver", "0.0.0.0:8000"]