What is an instance and how do I create multiple instances?

Hi all.
I’m new to fly.io, and a few other things. After some discussion on twitter with a staffer, I have some questions.

In the discussion the staffer mentions an “instance”. How is this defined within fly.io?
How do I create and run multiple instances?
Is this different from a process?
Is it related to docker?

I’m also new to docker, so I’m not familiar with any termonolgy there either.

I managed to get set up with an example project, running node.

Hobby project concept:
I’m creating a bot to enable people to play a game via twitter.
Using a cron based on twitter rate limit, fetch new mentions and process.
Processing tweets creates jobs on cloudflare workers.
Cloudflare workers must run fast, and so will mostly make requests to the fly.io server.
Server will run worker task, accessing database, and potentially creating more jobs on the worker system.

I had planned to use PM2 to manage the cron(using a cron style reset config), but the staffer suggested I should use two “instances”, as the cron and the http server didn’t interact.

(I’m aware I could use another worker system, but part of the technical challenge to myself is to see if I can use cloudflare workers to make this happen. I’m also hosting the database elsewhere.)

Background on me:
I have almost a decade of experience in web development and currently work on a large node application. I do not however have experience with devops, as our org has their own team to handle such things. (I tried docker many years ago, so I’m familiar with what it does, just not how to use it.)

1 Like