The app is not listening on 0.0.0.0:0

:wave: Hello! I’m relatively new to Fly and loving it so far.

But, I’m not sure what to do here:

I’ve set up an Nginx machine. It’s running fine and listening on the default internal port 8080.

The intent is to have Fly pass all TCP traffic on port 443 direct to Nginx on port 8080.

fly.toml:

app = "<app name here>"
primary_region = "ord"

[[services]]
  protocol = "tcp"
  min_machines_running = 1

[[services.ports]]
  port = 443

[services.concurrency]
  hard_limit = 1000
  soft_limit = 800

On deploy, I’m getting the following warning:

WARNING The app is not listening on the expected address and will not be reachable by fly-proxy.ing that 683d67ebd4dd68 [app] is up and running
You can fix this by configuring your app to listen on the following addresses:
  - 0.0.0.0:0
Found these processes inside the machine with open listening sockets:
  PROCESS                                    | ADDRESSES
---------------------------------------------*---------------------------------------
  nginx: master process nginx -g daemon off; | 0.0.0.0:8080
  /.fly/hallpass                             | [fdaa:3:3f4a:a7b:191:5eca:2f4b:2]:22
  nginx: worker process                      | 0.0.0.0:8080

So I’m left wondering: What does it mean to not be listening on port 0? And what can I do about it?

do you have try add env to Dockerfile

ENV HOSTNAME "0.0.0.0"

You probably want to replace everything after the primary_region line in your fly.toml with:

[http_service]
  internal_port = 8080
  force_https = true 
  auto_stop_machines = true
  auto_start_machines = true 
  min_machines_running = 1 

Feel free to adjust the auto start/stop machine lines.

Make sure that your nginx config has a line like one of the following (wither will do)::

listen 0.0.0.0:8080;
  listen [::]:8080;

Ah, I see what you’re suggesting.