sqlite file not updated under apps folder

Hello,

When I ssh into the console, I see all the files that I deployed under app folder. The webapp I designed works well and the user interactions are recorded and saved in the sqlite database, which is also under app folder. The webapp displays the previous interactions suggesting that the data are being saved. However, when I tried to view the contents of the database by fetching it to my local machine, I found it empty. Also, the filesize of the database under apps folder has not changed. Can you please guide me where should I look for the updated database file. Are the codes copied to a different folder when executed?

I just started learning app development and have very limited knowledge. Your help will be highly appreciated

Thanks,
Aakash

What commands are you using to pull down the database? Also, is the database file zero bytes or does it just not have any data in it?

If you’re using SQLite’s WAL mode then changes can be stored next to the database in a file suffixed with -wal. If you pulled down just the database file then your changes could be in the separate WAL file.

I used the get command under sftp (flyctl ssh sftp · Fly Docs). The database is not zero bytes. It has multiple tables and the table which was supposed to save user’s response is empty. The other table that is used to display content have same values I enter before deployment. In other words, it is a copy of my deployed file and no new content was added to it.

I don’t think I am using the WAL mode. All my files are in the same folder (including database), and I do CRUD operation on database using SQLmodel (https://sqlmodel.tiangolo.com/). For now, I also didn’t create separate volumes for database and just used flyctl deploy to upload all the files.

BTW, while deploying, it created an image which was about 1.2 GB, although my files were < 25 mb. I think the data is being updated in that image but I don’t know how to access it