RFC: Terraforming Rails on fly.io

Preface: the move from a higher level nomad CLI to a comparatively lower level machines API creates a need for scripting.

Most of the machines API is documented as curl commands. This maps directly to Ruby’s Net::HTTP. In other cases it may be worthwhile to shell out to CLI commands. This, too, is straightforward in Ruby scripts.

For those that don’t know me, I’m a big fan of Cunningham’s Law. I’m new to fly, and just got introduced to Terraform yesterday so it is quite likely I am missing a number of obvious things. Don’t be shy if you spot something, the goal is to make the best Rails developer experience.

Finally, everything below is subject to change. Don’t take any of it as a product commitment.

Survey of the current state

The flyctl app scanner support for templates is rather primitive, some modest improvements can be made by making use of go’s text/templates. flyctl’s support for machines is still experimental, resulting at times in results like incomplete fly.toml files.

There are also things one can’t do today. For example, running rails db:migrate on a sqlite3 database mounted on a volume during release time.

There are also things that are possible, but not necessary facilitated, by the current flyctl. For example, local docker builds which would unlock the ability to have secrets available during assets:precompile which is a common issue for people migrating from other hosting providers.

There are things that are possible, but hard today. For example, dynamically spinning off a new machine to process background jobs. Ideally those jobs should use the same image, but that information is not available to the deployed machine.

A different approach

Terraform machines approach is different. See Getting started with Machines and Terraform. A text file describes your entire network. This text file can be both read and updated by scripts.

A possible future would look something like this:

bundle add fly.io-rails