Rails App deployment error: Failed due to unhealthy allocation

Hi there - I’m new to Fly and I have been trying to deploy a rails app (was previously using Heroku’s free plan).

I get “failed due to unhealthy allocation - not rolling back to stable job version 5 as current job has same specification and deploying as v6” at the tail end of the deployment process. When I run fly logs (see screenshot below), I get this error:

Preparing to run: /rails/bin/docker-entrypoint ./bin/rails server as rails
2023-03-22T08:55:10Z app[c4be202b]
[ r: UnhandledIoError(Os { code: 2, kind: NotFound, message: “No such file or directory” })

Could someone please help?

Quick update:

I did a bundle update and then ran bin/rails generate dockerfile. I still get the same error but fly logs now flag something else:

PG::ConnectionBad: FATAL: password authentication failed for user “sanuiljfszbqng”
FATAL: no pg_hba.conf entry for host “185.178.200.130”, user “sanuiljfszbqng”, database “da2rr66k61pq44”, SSL off

Running bin/rails generate dockerfile --postgresql makes no difference.

I solved the issue by running fly launch again and using a different app name. However, there are two issues in the deployed app: the db doesn’t seem to have migrated and some of the keys are missing.

How do I run something equivalent to db:seed and db:migrate on fly?

Also, what’s the easiest way to set keys?

Try:

fly ssh console
cd /rails
bin/rails db:migrate
bin/rails db:seed

See Dockerfiles and fly.toml · Fly Docs for more details. Also Dockerfiles and fly.toml · Fly Docs may be of help.

I’m not familiar enough with Heroku to know what you mean by keys. Perhaps you mean secrets or auth token?

Thanks a lot! this worked! For some reason, running
fly ssh console -C '/rails/bin/rails db:seed' doesn’t seem to work.

Yeah, I meant secrets. I’ve used fly secrets to fix that. Thanks!