Postgres database service inside Docker

Early disclaimer: I’m fairly new to these subjects, as I’m usually more into frontend.

I have this Fly app that’s running from a Docker container.
This Docker container is composed of 3 services: app (a Rails 7 app), cache (Redis), and db (Postgres database).

On my local machine — and I really thought that by using Docker I would stop saying that — I can run this app both on development and production with no issues.

My database.yml file connects to host: db (where my database is).
Now, on Fly.io I see the following error:

2023-04-07T14:19:00.624 app[92bb3694] mad [info] [4a840a1a-aa16-48f8-a6d3-264d4d42bbd0] ActiveRecord::ConnectionNotEstablished (could not translate host name "db" to address: Name or service not known

Looks like it isn’t being able to find the db service.
Am I wrong when assuming that one can run multiple services per Docker container on Fly.io?
Can one of those be a postgres database?

Or perhaps that should be running on a separate app?

This is also slightly tied to other questions I will need answers to in the future involving persistent data and backups, so some lights here will be incredibly helpful.

Hi @pmpinto!

You’re on the right track here! While it’s possible to run multiple services per Docker container, it’s typical practice to run only one per container. On Fly.io, that usually translates to a single service per app.

Could you tell me a bit more about how are you running your app locally? Based on that, I might be able to give you some more specific/actionable advice. (From a few things you wrote, I’m wondering whether you’re using docker-compose?)

For data persistence, have a look here. Some specifics:

Fly has volumes that you can attach to your apps. We do daily backups of your volumes automatically.