Machines first impressions

I’ve spent the last few days playing with Machines with little prior experience on the Fly platform and wanted to record some feedback. I know machines are very new and I’m sure a lot of this is already known but I’m hoping at least a bit of it can be useful as I haven’t seen a ton of discussion about these points on the forum.

Documentation

The Fly documentation in general is great and high quality, however the introduction of machines makes most of the Fly documentation quite confusing. My perspective is that I am new to the platform and am primarily here for machines. The concept of “apps” is confusing because there seem to be 2 kinds of apps (regular apps and machines apps, but this isn’t really explicitly stated anywhere) and its not really clear which docs are talking about regular apps versus machines apps. To use machines I need to know enough about apps to know how network routing works but I also need to ignore most of the stuff about per-app configuration.

Some examples of confusion:
fly.toml seems to be the way to go when running flyctl commands, basically just for the app field when dealing with machines. This initially lead me to think I should deploy an app and also build machines and they are designed coexist in some way (and in fact you can do that, which is confusing).

Volumes, it seems like volumes just can’t work with machines but there isn’t anything that says this explicitly. I kind of assumed since I can assign an ip address at the app level with flyctl I could do the same with volumes but that doesn’t seem to be the case since there isn’t a supported field for it in the machine creation POST request body. This is another case where you have to just ignore most of the platform docs except those specifically mentioning machines.