How to deploy a SvelteKit app using SQLite as a database.

Hi.

I was trying to deploy a SvelteKit app following the docs and ran into a problem.

For additional context, I am using better-sqlite3.

The problem I am facing is at the final step when hitting fly deploy.
I am currently getting this: Error: failed to provision seed volumes: failed creating volume: The GraphQL API no longer supports volume operations, please use the machines API instead (or update your flyctl version): https://docs.machines.dev/swagger/index.html#/Volumes

I am new to fly, this is my very first app, actually, so please help out if you can.

Thank you.

Hey hi @davis
Welcome to the fly’s community
In order for the sqlite to store the database you need persistent volumes or else the database is deleted when you restart.

For this you might have to create a volume using Fly Volumes overview · Fly Docs

Hey, @darkcheftar007

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly. And thanks for the welcome.

I’ll definitely take a look at those docs.

Quick question: Since I’m not persisting anything, is that the reason why my deployment is failing?

Even If you are not persisting that should not be a problem it has to deploy normally,

Can you share more details like the config file?

This is my Dockerfile. Is there any other relevant file you’d like to take a look at? I’m happy to accomodate.

# syntax = docker/dockerfile:1

# Adjust NODE_VERSION as desired
ARG NODE_VERSION=18.18.0
FROM node:${NODE_VERSION}-slim as base

LABEL fly_launch_runtime="Node.js"

# Node.js app lives here
WORKDIR /app

# Set production environment
ENV NODE_ENV="production"

# Install pnpm
ARG PNPM_VERSION=8.8.0
RUN npm install -g pnpm@$PNPM_VERSION

# Throw-away build stage to reduce size of final image
FROM base as build

# Install packages needed to build node modules
RUN apt-get update -qq && \
    apt-get install -y build-essential pkg-config python-is-python3

# Install node modules