How to connect to a 3rd party image that listens for IPv4 addresses using Fly's private networking?

I’m a networking novice, so please bear with me. I’d like to move from Kubernetes, but in my current setup, I’m using a 3rd party package called Cube for my analytics backend. There’s a couple different containers that need to be deployed that must communicate with each other.

However it appears that the containers are defined to listen for IPv4 addresses which I guess isn’t compatible with the internal private networking provided by Fly? As an example, it’s required to set the address of container #1 as an environment variable in container #2, so in my Dockerfile, I’ve done something like this:

ENV META_STORE_ADDR=meta-store-app.internal:9999.

I dont know any rust lang, but if anyone here is… I dug in to the Cube source, and I believe this is where the requests are being made. And from my understanding, this definition is for IPv4 addresses.

Is there a proposed solution for handling IPv4 across containers? I saw this question here but it seems to be resolved because the user was able to modify source for redis to listen for IPv6 properly. I unfortunately don’t have that luxury.

Any thoughts or suggestions? Thanks!

I think that Rust will work fine with IPv6, TcpStream::connect(&meta_remote_addr) should handle .internal lookups with no issues.

Where in the cube setup is the problem happening? The router isn’t able to connect to the worker?

Hey @kurt - thanks for looking in to this! Yea I believe so. What appears to be happening is that the Cube Store Refresh Worker (top right in this diagram) doesn’t seem to be able to connect to the Cube Store Router.

When I deploy a cubestore refresh worker, the first few logs I see are:

2021-10-23T05:07:45.625 app[5c51eb05] lax [info] 2021-10-23 05:07:45,624 ERROR [cubestore::cluster] <pid:510> Failed to get warmup partitions: Internal: Connection refused (os error 111)