Error: failed to update VM xxxxxx: request returned non-2xx status, 504 (Request ID: yyyyyy-sin)

I’m new to fly.io and it’s the first time I try to deploy my app. fly deploy gives me the error:

Error: failed to update VM xxxxxx: request returned non-2xx status, 504 (Request ID: yyyyyy-sin)

When executing with log verbose:

set “LOG_LEVEL=debug” && fly deploy

[...]
DEBUG <-- 504 https://api.machines.dev/v1/apps/myapp/machines/xxxxxx
[...]
DEBUG <-- 200 https://api.fly.io/graphql (563.07ms)

DEBUG {
  "data": {
    "updateRelease": {
      "release": {
        "id": "zzzzzz"
      }
    }
  }
}

DEBUG Task manager done

Before it fails it outputs the following information:

→ Pushing image done
image: registry.fly.io/myapp:deployment-xxxxxx
image size: 125 MB

I noticed that the machine is in state “suspended”, but I can’t figure out what I should do about it.

Any help? Thank you

Possible related:

You have been stuck for 2 week? Are you on a paid plan? Did you get an answer from support?

I guess I misconfigured something but the platform doesn’t give me any information or hint of a potential misconfiguration.

No for longer, but only sometimes. Our deploy pipeline just keeps breaking.

We are on the highest plan, aside from enterprise. I’ve emailed support, but they’ve been unable so far to find a root cause. I got some tips like change the registry and it helps sometimes but not always.

I have a few suggestions for you though, as a short term fix. Try these:

• Kill the builder. Just go to the dashboard, then to the builder, and delete it. A new one will be created when deploying.
  • Kill the machine. fly m list and fly m destroy <id> --force
2 Likes