Adding an R buildpack to my Ruby on Rails App

I’m migrating from Heroku and my Rails app uses an R script to analyze some data.

On Heroku, I added https://github.com/virtualstaticvoid/heroku-buildpack-r.git to my Buildpacks section in the Settings tab.

What’s the equivalent step I need to take over here on Fly? I found the Buildpacks section of the docs but nothing I’ve tried has worked.

Thanks!

I’m not an expert on heroku or buildpacks, but (and don’t scream!) I know a thing or two about deploying Rails apps via Dockerfiles. dockerfile-generator is a Rails generator that will inspect your application and generate a dockerfile.

If what you are saying is that you shell out to an R script, that’s beyond what can be automatically detected and I’d need a hint. If you are willing to give it a try, by tomorrow-ish I could have something like the following working for you:

bin/rails generate dockerfile --add r-base

I was planning on adding that support in the next week or so, but I can do that next if you are interested.

I have a Rake task that includes this line:

task.rake

output, status = Open3.capture2(Rails.root.join("clusters.r").to_s, stdin_data: csv_input)

clusters.r

#!/usr/bin/env Rscript

library(readr)

data <- read_csv(file("stdin"))

all=c()

for (k in 2:5)

... and so on

This works on Heroku when I include the R buildpack I mentioned above. But when I try to run this on Fly, I get:

/usr/bin/env: 'Rscript': No such file or directory
rake aborted!

I have verified that once r-base-core is added to the Dockerfile, Rscript is available:

% fly ssh console -C Rscript
Connecting to fdaa:0:d445:a7b:ae:56cc:9309:2... complete
Usage: /path/to/Rscript [--options] [-e expr [-e expr2 ...] | file] [args]

--options accepted are
  --help              Print usage and exit
  --version           Print version and exit
  --verbose           Print information on progress
  --default-packages=list
                      Where 'list' is a comma-separated set