502 Error: Node.js app with Postgres on Fly.io not working as expected

Hi everyone! I’m new to fly, and I’m facing an issue with my Node.js app that uses Postgres as the database and is deployed on Fly.io. I also need to mention that this is just a simple hobby app, as I am teaching myself the Express/Node.JS ecosystem. When I run the app locally, it works perfectly fine, but after deploying it to Fly.io, I’m getting a 502 error when trying to access the app through the browser.

Here are some details about my setup:

• Node.js app using Express framework
  • Postgres database hosted on Fly.io as a separate app
  • Using the Fly.io CLI to deploy and manage my app

I’ve checked my app’s logs, and I can see that the server is running and listening on the correct port (usually 3000). I have also verified the DATABASE_URL environment variable, and it points to the correct Postgres database.

Despite all this, I’m still encountering the 502 error, and I’m not sure what’s causing it. I suspect there might be an issue with my app’s configuration on Fly.io or something related to the interaction between my Node.js app and the Postgres database.

I’ve tried some troubleshooting steps, including recreating the Fly.io app and Postgres database, but the problem persists.

Could someone please help me understand what might be causing this issue and how I can resolve it? Are there any specific configurations or settings I need to ensure when deploying a Node.js app with a Postgres database on Fly.io?

Thank you in advance for your assistance!

Hey there,

To try and debug this, there’s a few things that you can run to look and see what’s going on. Here are some docs to try below. Try and see if anything pops out at you or if there is anything funky going on. Also would you mind posting your fly.toml file (without envs or confidential info) that was generated?

1. fly doctor · Fly Docs
  2. fly status · Fly Docs
  3. fly logs · Fly Docs

Hi there,